IC Journey

If That’s Your Idea of “Extending the Olive Branch” You Need to Get a Bigger Branch…

Posted in Uncategorized by ic2manywords on April 25, 2010

… that way it will sting a little when I smack you in the head with it.

I could end it there – shortest post ever! HA!

Sometimes one of the most hurtful things is when someone you love is a complete jerk to you and their excuse is that they feel like you do every day. All of those days that you make them their breakfast, do their laundry, pick up their dirty trash or dirty dishes, or the laundry they left on the floor…

“I hurt all night and didn’t get a lot of sleep and I don’t feel well.”

Uh huh. You mean like I feel every morning I make you a hot breakfast?

“I don’t like getting up at six a.m., either.”

Like I do five days a week, even on days you don’t have to because there is also a child to get ready for school?

No, those weren’t the responses, though there was a mean quip when my head first got bit off. Then I realized the only way to have peace in the situation was to act like I was the mean person, the one who was not taking the time to understand or care about the other one, and I did.

Really, though, when things calm down and HE feels better and I’m no longer in the mood to rip someone’s arm off and hit them repeatedly with it, I think I will share that thought with him. Usually we both have a sense of humor, and life, at least, is usually good for at least a laugh or two.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. joy said, on April 25, 2010 at 2:43 pm

    I want an olive branch…. !!!! LOL


Leave a Reply

